up in auckland (again)

I drove up to Auckland about 3 weeks ago to meet up with Ms Kaladkarin. I was getting sumkindabored here in Hamilton so I decided to spend the weekend with her. I had originally planned to leave the Tron at about 7:00 or 8:00 in the morning so I’d be at her place by 9:30 or 10:00 which would give me (us, since she’ll be showing me around) the whole day to see the sights. Unfortunately, my plans went awry because I had to join my class  at the Hamilton Gardens for a little field trip. I left Hamilton at about 11:30 and reached Auckland at around 1:00pm. Pfft!

Our first stop was the Auckland Museum. I thought we’d  be able to explore the museum in perhaps, 2 -3 hours – but no – the Auckland Museum pala was this massive multi-storey complex with numerous wings and annexes and jampacked with information. I mistakenly thought it would be like our National Museum in Manila (in fairness, that’s big too but not as big as this one) so I under allocated my time. We ended up just breezing through all the floors and taking snapshots of things that caught our eye, like this gigantic skeleton.

that's one big water buffalo
that's one big water buffalo

There were also giant Moas, tree trunks, numerous creepy crawlies, replicas of Maori homes, hundreds of stuffed animals, clothes – you name it, they’ve got it. Very interesting. But what’s nice about the Auckland Museum (and most of the museums here for that matter) is that almost everything is interactive. Patrons can actually touch and feel the displays though, of course, there are some that are off-limits. Ms. K and I lifted rocks, sat on tree trunks, hugged penguins, pretended to be at war, straddled canons – the works. TAPOS, the layout isn’t boring. Its not like in Manila na they fill up one whole wing with row upon row of ceramic pots that were discovered in Limahong’s sunken ship, or something. Here, there’s a break and the scenery changes just before one gets bored with what can be seen.

Wenihu, following the speed tour of the Museum, Ms. K and I wandered off to the Winter Gardens to meet up with Iska and her familia. The Winter Gardens is like one giant greenhouse. As per Ms. K, they change the plants on display because the last time she was there, there was an abundance of vegetables. We were greeted by flowers and ferns on our visit and – this particular flower caught our attention.

you're thinking: "what strange looking blossoms"
you're thinking: "what strange looking blossoms"

C’mon, let your imagination run wild (*wink*).

After exploring the fauna and taking more silly pictures, we went home. I guess, even though we were only able to go to two places, it was a fruitful day. We had fun and we had lots of photos to show for it. Later that night, we munched on pizza and chatted about local gossip (yannow, girly stuff).

So there, that was how I spent my weekend about 3 weeks ago. Not bad aye?

2 comments

Leave a Reply

