One hot night!

fire4

I was rostered to work as a Theatre Attendant (TA for short) last night and I had second thoughts about going primarily because I have not yet fully recovered from this horrible URTI (Upper Respiratory Track Infection, to the untrained eye) that I contracted sometime last week. I had planned on asking one of the girls to cover for me but, since I do need the moolaloo, I decided to go for it. I figured it’ll be okay because:

  1. I won’t be standing outdoors – we always work indoors,
  2. The theatre is usually nice and warm,
  3. I get to have my weekly dose of NZ culture (read: I may be able to sneak a peek while the show is ongoing).

So, I went – and boy was I glad that I did! ‘M’ my co-TA told me that the event for that evening was a fire show. I’m like, what do you mean? And she explained that there would be fire eaters and fire blowers and … basically, a show that would use a lot of fire. Oooh yeah ….

Fire1

Yes, the show would involve a lot of pyrotechnics and, being the frustrated pyromaniac that I am, I was obviously intrigued and immensely curious. The evening’s duty manager said I’m to stay at the technician’s balcony (like a catwalk but not as scary) and I’m to immediately alert them if any of the overhead lights and buntings catch fire. They, on the other hand, were to monitor the fire situation from below. So up to the techies area I went and performed my duty – while watching the show of course.

fire3

I couldn’t hear the voice of the narrator as she opted to NOT use the microphone during the first part of the show, but from what I gathered, it was a legend that involved celestial bodies. It was about how the sun and the moon fell in love and bore beautiful children (the stars), but their peace and happiness were shattered and as a result of that event the stars, the moon and the sun can no longer be seen in the sky at the same time (someting like that). Of course they used fire as their visual aid. They had fire pois, fire batons, fire hoops, 5-pronged candelabras, candles. I think all the performers – at one point or another – danced, twirled, jumped, wiggled around the stage while holding on to something burning.

Fire2

It was a fairly simple show but I was absolutely enthralled by it all. I think, more than the story line, I was amazed by the way these artists confidently handled such a volatile and dangerous element. I was fascinated by fire trails made by twirling those fire-lit props around.

The fire stunts were very exciting and yet, I felt that these were also strangely hypnotic. Perhaps it’s not the stunt but the fire itself that captivated me – that warm glowing light that has the power bring life and take life away. I don’t know what it was – all I know that I was transfixed and I was so glad I saw the show. Of course, after everyone left, we had to stay behind and wait until the theatre was free of smoke and no longer reeked of kerosene. That part, and the bit where I had to stand guard by two open doors exposed to the cold winter wind sucked but, it’s fine.

fire5

Whew, my horoscope said I’d have a hot night on 22nd June (actually, 21st June but the horoscope site is based in the US so their 21st is our 22nd). Tee hee … I so don’t think this was what the prediction alluded to but I can’t complain. It was, indeed HOT!

Leave a Reply

