Almost at the edge …

Greetings from surprisingly warm Invercargill! Yes, I am in the South Island and tomorrow, I will set foot on the southernmost part of the country – Stewart Island. I left foggy Hamilton on Saturday and flew into Queenstown on Sunday morning. It was quite nippy but not as cold or chilly as I thought it would be. I took the bus to town (got the $17.00 day pass) and immediately proceeded to Arrowtown to take part in their Autumn Festival. Got there just in time to see a couple of men dressed up as cow girls running towards what I assume to be the finish line (it was some sort of a race). I then walked around the little town and took pictures of the various scarecrows that lined the streets. Afterwards, I decided to walk along the Arrowtown River. I wanted to go to Tobin’s peak? just to see Arrowtown from above. However, when I saw that I needed to go up a hill to get to the peak, I opted against it. Although I did have my hardy hiking boots on, I didn’t know the area. I didn’t want to get lost on the first day of my holiday … So I meandered back towards the bus pick up point and took the buses back to Queenstown.

At Queenstown, I stayed at the Base and I would greatly recommend this backpacker’s facility to anyone. The place is in the centre of town and about a block and a half from the bus depot. The rooms are tidy and each 8-bed dorm room has it’s own toilet and bath facility – which means, it’s semi-communal. The toilet and bathrooms are a wee bit tiny, but they are clean and are separated from one another. The staff are friendly and the reception desk is manned 24/7 – which is great! I’ll try to upload photos of the Base later on.

Got to go. I’ve got 3 minutes left on my timer and don’t want to run out. I tried to upload photos but I think the card reader in this machine is not working. Will have to upload images later on.

More stories to come! Meanwhile, have a great rest of the week!

2 thoughts on “Almost at the edge …

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

