Live Music @ Cuba Street

I was in town last night – whoohoo! That’s a first, I know! But seriously, I was in town yesterday because I was supposed to have dinner with a few members of the photography club I belong to. However, due to inclement weather (and, to some extent, the Super XV match between the Crusaders and the Reds) we had several cancellations so – the dinner was postponed to another day. Anyway, I figured, since I was already in the city I might as well go and have dinner – even if I were on my own (no harm in that).

So, since I really am not too fond of the restaurants on Courtney Place, I headed off to my favourite street in the whole of Wellington – CUBA STREET! That area is just lined with restaurants and cafes, I was sure one would tickle my fancy (and have prices that were well within my budget). Was fortunate enough to find a free park and meandered down towards Cuba Mall. It was while I was searching for a feed when I chanced upon this busker.

A busker with a piano?!
A busker with a piano?!

Now, buskers are a dime a dozen here in the Capital. Just yesterday a group of guys were playing jazz music at the corner of Cuba and Manners Street! Sometimes, I see jugglers or little kids singing to raise funds for a holiday – one time I even saw a busker playing a digderidoo made up of PVC pipes! How’s that for ingenuity! However, I’ve never seen one with a PIANO! So, being the inquisitive person that I am, I moved closer and was simply AMAZED at the level of his performance. It was just … enthralling – to say the least. It’s not too evident in the photos I’ve posted but there was quite a large crowd and they were all just listening to him play!

Snapshots from the "open-air" concert
Snapshots from the “open-air” concert

I don’t think he’s your regular busker because, in that little suitcase next to the piano seat, were several postcards (I got one), and CDs of his music (according to the little signboard, all the music are original compositions). PLUS … he has his own Facebook page and website.  He was selling his CDs for $20 and I would have purchased a copy except that someone beat me to the last one. I don’t think I was the only one who was quite disappointed they didn’t get a CD. He said that we could visit his website, send a message that we heard him play in Wellington and would like a CD, and he’ll sort something out (yes, I sent an email and requested for a CD – it’s just too good to not have!). Looking forward to receiving that CD soon – I need to listen to something other than the songs from LND!

PS. The date on the photo collage is the date I made the collage. Overlooked that bit, sowee!

One comment

  1. Clever girl. I would have enjoyed watching and listening to the guy too. Just like what we did at Melbourne’s “whatsthenameofthestreetsimilartoWelington’sCuba”. Unfortunately, we don’t have that luxury in my old rural Ohinewai community. : )

    Like

Leave a Reply

