Wellington Night Market

Every Friday @ Cuba Street's Left Bank
Setting up @ Cuba Street’s Left Bank

On weekdays, I normally go straight home after work (well, to  be honest, I sometimes drop by JB HiFi and look at all the flash gitchy-gadgets they have on display) but on Fridays, I usually dilly dally and spend some time at the Wellington Night Market.

The night market is located at the Left Bank of Cuba Mall. They start at about 5:30 pm and the stalls stay open until about 10:00-10:30. I’ve never stayed there until that time, I’ve just been told that. ANYHU … they have a lot of food stalls at the Night Market and I often frequent the one that sells Bratwursts!

Fritz Weiners - Bavarian Bratwursts
Fritz Weiners – Bavarian Bratwurst

I *heart* the Bavarian Bratwurst! Reminds me of the Bratwursts I used to have at Cologne! Since I’m so not sure when I’ll ever go back to Europe, I might as well have a bit of Europe while in Wellington, right? But, going back to food, you won’t run out of options at the Night Market – there’s something for everyone. Here are some of the stalls at the Night Market.

They also have stalls selling Mediterranean, African (I’ve been told that the goat curry is divine), Maori (selling Hangi), and Mexican cuisine and, if you don’t want to eat “street food” there are little cafes within the Left Bank selling Asian dishes, or you can just walk up and down Cuba Mall and pick from any of the restaurants that line the street.

Is it expensive to eat here? Not really. If you had $15.00 you’d be able to buy a meal and a drink (and probably still have some loose change left over). The cheapest French Crepe is about $6.00, the Bratwurst costs $6.50. The Goat Curry costs $10.00, and that’s already served with rice. The Indian Wrapped Roti (i’m not sure what they are called, but since I’ll have a taste this coming friday – everyone’s raving about it – I’ll ask the Indian gentleman what the food is really called) costs $8.00 and it looks quite filling too. A stick of Pinoy barbeque (also known as Pork Kebabs) sells for $2.50 while a stick of 4 dumplings (either fried or steamed), also from the Filipino stall costs $4.00. Not bad, right?

So … if you find yourself wandering around the streets of Wellington on a Friday night, mosey on over to the Left Bank and see what the Wellington Night Market is all about.

One comment

Leave a Reply

