Home for a Holiday

This time next week, I’ll be up north, ready to start a week-long break at the Mighty Waikato. The original plan was for me to go to Hawaii but that fizzled out so I considered booking a flight to Rarotonga instead. Somehow that didn’t materialise so I thought maybe I should head off to Norfolk Island … but a friend said that Norfolk Island is ideal for newly-weds or nearly-dead. Hmpft. I’m neither so … I finally ended up in Huntly. From Hawaii to Huntly – that’s a bit of a “dive”, isn’t it? Heeheehee!

Welcome to the Waikato!
Welcome to the Waikato!

I really don’t mind spending a week at the Waikato. I get to go back to my “roots” – that’s where I first lived when I moved to Hobbit-land, and stayed there for 6 years before the Winds of Wellington beckoned. It’s my 2nd home (with Manila being my 1st home) and it would be good to be around wide open spaces and mostly flat lands instead of the narrow streets and hilly terrain that is Wellington.

I’m actually going to be staying at a farm off of Huntly, not Huntly itself. It’s one of those blink and you’ll miss it towns you drive past en route to Auckland or Hamilton. I’ll be spending a whole-lotta-quality time with perhaps a dozen ducks, half a dozen chickens, 3 doggies, 2 turtle doves and a partridge in pear tree. Well, they don’t have a partridge but there are doves where I’m staying – and in the daytime, they sit just on top of the kitchen window and coo.

DSC_2218
Quack!

I’m also looking forward to doing some gardening – nothing serious – just minor stuff, like pulling out weeds and perhaps trimming some hedges. No, I’m not going to dig up all of my mum’s rose plants (yes, I’m staying at my mum’s) and replant them somewhere else. I just want to admire their flowers, tend to their tomatoes, and take pictures of their grapes. I doubt if there’ll be lots though, with it being winter and all, but who knows.

AND … since I’ll have my big camera with me (and also, a small P&S my sister got for me), I’m so looking forward to taking pictures again! I’ll take pictures of the ducks, the dogs, the doves, the chickens, the tomatoes, the grapes, of flowers, and maybe try to get photos of star trails. I’ve always wanted to do that and, mum’s place is the best area for it because they have an unobstructed view of the sky! It also helps that there’s very little artificial light in the evening. I think I’ve seen a bit of the Milky Way Galaxy a couple of times – I know I’ve seen that when I was still at Hamilton (during those nights when Darling Doggie would wake me up at 3:00 am so she can go out and have a poo!), so I’m sure it’s even more visible at Huntly.

It’ll be an amazing week. I’m hoping for sunny skies but whatever the weather, it will be great! I’ll make it great!

Stay tuned …

One thought on “Home for a Holiday

Add yours

  1. Correction please. There are about 25 noisy Peking ducks and 6 gentle Muscovy ducks, about over over a dozen of hens and roosters (3 black and white Sussex hens – my favorites, and 2 Sussex brown roosters, and yes the three musketeers (dogs) and two turtle doves indeed. Don’ forget Tweety bird and lonesome quail who has not gotten over losing his mate. There is also a solo flight wood pigeon by the kowhai tree at the right gate -if you are looking at the house.

    You will be really busy attending to all these “other homeowners”. There’s not much to see in the garden at this mid winter time but I promise you will enjoy the garden come summer. I will make it worth your while spending Christmas break – or part of it at the good old Ohinewai.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

