Meridian Wind Sculpture Walkway

Woke up to a bit of sunshine this morning so I decided to go out for another walk. I haven’t been walking as much as I should because of the awful weather we’ve been having so, as soon as the sun showed itself from behind the clouds – away I went!

My initial intention was to just go down the hill and up again but, when I got close to the bottom, I thought I might as well walk a bit further and in so doing I ended up in Evans Bay Parade – which is a good 4.6 kms from where I’m staying. Whew! Not bad at all! I walked through the Meridian Wind Sculpture Walkway on Cobham Drive en route to wherever my feet would take me.

There are supposed to be 5 sculptures on the walkway but I only recall seeing four, and took photos of three, and here they are (click on the titles to read more about artists and the meaning behind the sculptures):

Urban Forest 

Akau Tangi

Zephyrometer

The fourth sculpture is called Tower of Light and, as much as I wanted to photograph it – I felt it would be pointless to do so in daylight. It looks like your regular garden lamp post but when it’s windy, the tower lights up.

AND … after doing some research, the fifth sculpture apparently, is located in the centre of the roundabout (no wonder I didn’t see it) and it’s called Pacific Grass. Again, just click on the links to see what these are like.

Anyway, I kept walking until I reached Evans Bay Parade and when I got to this viewing station, I decided it was time to go back. I’ll walk to the city and back on another day, preferably one that is sunnier and warmer.

Incoming plane alert!
Incoming plane alert!

So anyway, according to Google Maps, after plotting out where I went after my little excursion to Evans Bay, I walked 10 kms this morning! Whew! What a feat! Not bad for someone who’s recovering from a bad case of cough and colds.

Here, there, and everywhere ...
Here, there, and everywhere …

I guess this means I can have some of the yummy Smiley Chocolate Cake I baked yesterday. 🙂

Oh, and before I forget, Happy 1st Day of Spring to everyone and Happy Fathers Day to all the dads out there.

Leave a Reply

