So today …

Image
i did this!

Well, I didn’t purposely set out to go shopping – it all just, kinda happened when I got there. You see, the Photography Club was invited to a special selling evening at the Wellington Photographic Supplies on Victoria Street. Since I had RSVP’d, and since it was just a 10 minute walk from where I work, I decided I might as well have a nosey – even if Wellington was being hammered by 150 k/h winds (seriously! it’s a challenge to remain upright and walk in a straight line!).

Anyway, I was supposed to get a camera bag. My sister gave me one – but it’s somewhat slightly big and heavy for my needs. It’s a great bag, but just heavy. They had heaps and heaps of options, but I just couldn’t find one that beckoned to me. I opted to leave that for another day – there’s no rush to get a bag anyway – after all,  I’m not going on my holiday until 2014. I did, however, get an extra battery for my camera – and 2 x 16GB Extreme Sandisk Memory Cards. I actually have been meaning to buy these but I just keep putting it off.  I would always find a reason to not purchase them – even though I know deep in my heart that they really are worth the “investment”. Since they were giving the club a special price (valid only for that night) I decided to just go for it.

Somehow, those small purchases seemed to have sparked a renewed interest in photography! I’m kinda excited to use start taking pictures again – even if it’s just to see if 16GB Extreme Memory Cards really do make a difference in the processing of images. I’ve even cleaned my lenses! OMG!

So yeah – I’m now looking forward to using my cameras (yes, I have several: a point and shoot, a hybrid, and my big bazooka!) again. I had originally thought of leaving the big bazooka here next weekend – but I think I will take it with me when I go up to Auckland. Who would have thought that a few simple purchases would reawaken my passion for this craft. Heehee – I suppose I can now say, “you can now expect more pictures from me!” –  Hahahaha!

I shall go now – the wind is lulling me to sleep. We’ve had seriously strong winds today. I wasn’t kidding when I said it was extremely difficult to remain upright and walk in a straight line. Here is an article (with pics) from the Dominion Post. It’s really quite scary. I’m hoping the wind eases up tonight. The Capital’s received so much wrath from Mother Nature lately (drought, storms, earthquakes) – I think we deserve a break. AND, I think I should end my post on a high note! Lookie all the vintage cameras! They were on display at the shop. Aren’t they just adorable?

Image
Old cameras, photo taken through a glass partition.

 Good night!!

Leave a Reply

