Waterfalls and wet feet

Yesterday, we (me, some guys from the photography club and other photography enthusiasts) drove around the Hutt Valley to take pictures of waterfalls. Yep! There are waterfalls here in the Wellington Region! I only found out about it when Dave sent out the invite for the photo walk. We started out at 9:30 am and were back at Wellington by 4:00.

First stop was Percy’s Scenic Reserve near Petone, just off Dowse Drive. The waterfall, which is dubbed the highest waterfall in the Wellington Region, is just a short walk from the parking lot. Since everyone was focused on the falls, I opted to just take pictures of the little ripples somewhere downstream. I didn’t want to jostle for position.

The 2nd one was a small falls somewhere between Belmont Trig and Middle Ridge Tracks. It was a fairly easy walk – mostly flatlands. The falls however, although it was nice, it really was not that impressive. It was charming but not – awe inspiring. 

Falls between Belmont Trig and Middle Ridge Trac
Falls between Belmont Trig and Middle Ridge Track

Third falls was where I got my feet wet. This one’s located in the Dry Creek Valley (whatever!). We had to follow the markers to get to the falls and had to cross the same stream several times during the trek. It felt more like a tramp than a photo walk – I had to clamber up the embankment, cross the stream by stepping on stones, grab on to roots and vines for support – I don’t mind really – if I were prepared for it! I had my running shoes on and boy did my shoes (and feet) get wet. BUT – the falls were worth the trouble.

Finally, the fourth stop was the Birchville Dam in the Akatarawa Forest. Thankfully, I didn’t have to channel my inner Pocahontas to get to the the site. No jumping on rocks – it was a fairly easy, flat and dry walk – much to my relief.

Even though my shoes were soaked I had a lot of fun. Not sure when the next photo walk will be held and what we’ll be photographing. I think Dave wants to take pictures of planes. I guess this means we’re going to the airport.

Until next time!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

