Broadbeach, Australia

Two weeks into February, while walking to my area, arms filled with folders and other work related documents, I was called into my boss’s office. So, I had to make a quick detour and, after settling down in one of the office chairs and carefully putting the folders on top of the small meeting table, I was asked, “how would you like to go to Australia?”.

Huh?

Apparently, one of the guys who was supposed to go to Aussie had to pull out due to medical reasons. Since the registration for the conference has been paid, it would be best if someone else took his place instead of cancelling everything all together. SO … my whole schedule just went out of the window. Instead of having a week’s rest after my niece’s baptism (15th Feb) before I go on a “run” I’ve been preparing for (on the 22nd), I would have to fly out to Australia a day after I fly back in to Wellington, attend the conference, and fly back in 1 day before I would go on my 6.5 km run. Whew! Talk about Busy!

So anyway, yep – I went to Australia. Flew into Brisbane and drove to the Gold Coast. Since I was there for work, I didn’t have much time to see the sights – basically just the establishments that were walking distance from the conference venue. On the 2nd to the last day, however, we had a wee bit more free time on our hands so we were able to meander towards the sea and spent some time at Broadbeach.

It. Was. Amazing! Miles upon endless miles of white sand, teal blue waters set against a clear blue sky. I think I mentally kicked myself about a million times for not having enough foresight to bring swimming togs. I would have loved to have taken even a really really short swim.

Here are some pictures of Broadbeach.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

