Twilight @ Makara Beach

Twilight @ Makara
Twilight @ Makara

Twilight: the soft glowing light from the sky when the sun is below the horizon, caused by the reflection of the sun’s rays from the atmosphere.”

After spending almost four hours at the West Wind wind farm (aka Makara Wind Farm), we drove down to Makara Beach so we could have the club’s annual Makara Picnic. I wasn’t there last year so I didn’t know what to expect. I wore fairly sensible walking shoes and a fleece jersey to keep me warm – apparently, those weren’t enough. From the parking area (which I would assume to be Ohariu Bay) we walked southwards towards Opau Bay and continued on until we reached, Te Ikaamaru Bay – at least I think that’s where we stopped to have our snacks. You know what, we could have gone to Ohau Bay and I wouldn’t have known it.

Map of Makara. We were somewhere there
Map of Makara. We were somewhere there

After we had our fill, the gung-ho photographers in the group started taking pictures of the sunset. I dilly-dallied a wee bit (wanted to savour the chicken I was munching on) so I kinda missed the sun as it set, but still managed to capture a few nice sunset images.

It was after the sun has decided to bid us adieu that we started to really have fun. Two of the guys brought coloured torches (aka: flashlights) with them and a long piece of string. They stood on rocks and started twirling the lights around while we took long exposure photos of them. Here are my laser-trail images:

We even tried our hand at light painting! Again – we set the camera on long exposure and while the shutter was open, one of the guys would go around “painting” a rock using the light from his torch.  We didn’t get too many light-painted images because it was getting too dark and hopping from one rock to another was getting too dangerous.

AND we didn’t stop there. When it was really REALLY dark, we took photos of the stars. I’ll post those images in the next day or two. Still need to tweak them a bit. Meanwhile, I’ll sign off. I’ve had a very busy, tiring but fun and productive weekend. Must now prepare for the work week that lies ahead of me.

Guten Nacht! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

