Long Exposure @ Paraparaumu

My long-exposure filter kit arrived last week and I drove up to Paraparaumu (about 50 km north of Wellington) to get the parcel. Since I don’t really know how to use those gitchy-gadgets, my friend decided to spend a few hours with me so I would learn the ropes. We spent some time at a park in Otaihanga and then headed off to Paraparaumu Beach. I’ve never been to that area of Wellington before so I was surprised to see such gems in that area (for those not in-the-know, I’m new to Wellington and I haven’t had the chance to explore the surrounding areas just yet). Bernie helped me set the camera up and tried to take long exposure photos.  Here are some of the images I took.

Sadly, I wasn’t able to take a lot photos and these are not too exciting. I’m still getting used to my new toys and besides, it was getting quite chilly. It was also quite unfortunate that, even though the weather wasn’t that great (cloudy and windy – typical Wellington weather), the brook and the sea were relatively calm so the effects of being able to keep the shutter speed open for a long period of time can’t be seen. AND – it’s not easy huh? I think I need to bring a book with me the next time I attempt to do this (Game of Thrones, maybe?) so I won’t get bored out of my gourd. I’ll give it another try, perhaps sometime this week. Anyway – back to work tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

