Images from Island Bay

View from Island Bay, Wellington
Tapu Te Ranga Motu (the Island) – View from Island Bay, Wellington

A few weeks ago, the APPS, the Photography Club I’m a member of, held a workshop on Black and White Photography and today, we had a Photowalk where we were given the chance to put into practice all that we’ve learned. We met up at 2:30 pm at the Johnsonville Community Centre and drove over to Island Bay, a coastal suburb about 5 km south of Wellington. We started taking photos at the small basketball court next to the children’s park and headed off towards the beachfront.

Craig, the gentleman who conducted the B&W Workshop (also a member of the APPS and the PSNZ – an amazing photographer) patiently showed me a few tricks of the trade and helped me to “see things in a different light” – to see shapes and patterns and textures instead of seeing a tree, a rock or a plant. It was a wee bit difficult, because I tend to see things as they are … a tree, a rock or a plant, but I think I managed. Here are some of the things I “saw” at Island Bay.

 

Afterwards, some of us went to a coffee shop at Newtown for a bit of R&R. It was while we were sipping our respective drinks (I had Chai Latte because I can’t have caffeine after mid-day) and talking about photographic gear and techniques that Craig gave me a “creative” assignment for tomorrow. I’m supposed to take 36 images wherein the subject is at least 50% out of the frame and that none of the images would be of a straight horizontal or vertical orientation. I’m not allowed to have a re-take and can only adjust the tonal curve and convert the image from RAW to jpeg on Lightroom. Dave countered this by giving me another assignment: he’s asked that I take 5 photos at the Waterfront every day for the next work week. What have I gotten myself into?

So there! Tomorrow, I will take 36 random images and will post these here. And next Saturday, more photos from waterfront. I can feel my head starting to hurt.

Good night!

One thought on “Images from Island Bay

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

