Goodbye Britannia

Resting feet while travelling on London's Train System
Resting feet while travelling on London’s Train System

After my fairly exhausting week in Paris, I spent a rather laid-back 6 days in Britain. I flew in on Saturday morning and was welcomed by what can be called “typical British weather”. It was cold, windy and wet – reminded me a lot of Wellington actually. Wellington’s notorious for having wet, wild and windy weather – but when the sun is out – man, you really can’t beat Wellington when the weather gods smile favourably on the city. But … I digress.

Britain – just like Paris, it’s my first time EVER to set foot on this place and I loved every minute I spent both at Oxford and in London. In my brief stay I’ve come to the conclusion that Britain is – to me anyway – a wee bit more serious than France. Both countries had palaces, windows with flowers, bicycles, museums, trains, buses – but there’s this quiet dignity in all things Britain, whereas the French exuded an aura of playfulness. Not that either one is good or bad, okay? The two are just … different.

Here are some of the things I saw in Great Britain. Again, no stories yet because I’m still on the move. Stories (similar to the Harry Potter post) and more photos will be posted after the 15th of June, when I’m back in New Zealand. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

