One Night in Paris (and then homeward bound)

Now in the plane heading to Singapore from Paris
Now in the plane heading to Singapore from Paris

I’m now at the waiting area of the Changi International Airport (Singapore, for those who don’t know), awaiting the boarding call for my 2nd long-haul flight for the day – the flight that will take me back home to New Zealand. I spent a night in Paris after a gruelling 11 hour train ride from Venezia Sta Lucia. In the future, I think I’d rather pay extra than go through that ordeal again. I swear, my soft-sleeper bed on the train from Beijing to Datong (and back) was much more comfortable than this one! There were 6 of us in a room so can you imagine 3 beds on top of one another? And, get this, for the first 3 hours of the train ride, we didn’t have power nor air conditioning. EW!!! Okay, I’ve done that, won’t do that again.

Anyway … I arrived in Paris at 9:30 am (surprisingly on time, considering the delays at some of the stations), and managed to make my way from Gare du Lyons to Lamark Coulaincourt (where my hotel is located) in good time! I think I was able to check in by 10:15 or 10:30. That’s not bad considering the train station is across the city from the hotel.

After checking in, I went out to have lunch (I opted to have steak – I’m already craving for MEAT!), got back to have a bit of rest and then explored Paris one last time before I left for the bottom of the world. I went to La Concorde, Tuilleries, The Louvre, the Love Lock Bridge,Β The Grand Palais and went on a bike tour (I was the passenger, not the biker) of Mairie, a less-touristy locale in the City of Lights. I wanted to stay up until I saw some of the lights the city is known for, but I had to prepare for my 2 x long-haul flights back to Middle Earth.

Here are some random snapshots from my walking tour:

So there, my grand holiday is done! It’s back to the grind on Monday, time to pay off the bills I’ve incurred during the last 4 weeks. I would love to travel this way again, Paris is just adorable. The next time I’m there, I hope I would be able to see the sights at night. I would have wanted to but I’d rather play it safe. I wouldn’t stay as long as long as I have this time though. Bah! It’s too early to plan my next trip. I haven’t even gotten back yet! Must make it through the next long-haul flight first.

Anyhu — I’m halfway home – see you soon New Zealand. I’ve missed you so. πŸ™‚

7 thoughts on “One Night in Paris (and then homeward bound)

Add yours

    1. Hi! Yes, I had a great time and thank you for following my blog. I won’t be making updates in the next few days though – as I have a lot of work to catch up on, but I will – once my life has settled down. I hope you’d still enjoy reading what I will be posting by then. πŸ™‚

      Like

    1. They appeared to be quite careful with the dress – the couple did look extremely uncomfortable because of the heat. However, i’m sure the wedding photos would have looked amazing.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

