Skippers Canyon

Remember the workshop I went to in 2012? I mentioned it briefly in my entry “The Colours of Queenstown” – well, the photos on that post weren’t from the workshop itself. Those images were taken at the Queenstown Botanic Gardens and I think Jackie had time to spare so, while waiting, she showed me various ways to use my camera. The actual workshop was held at Skippers Canyon.

Welcome to Skipper's Canyon!
Welcome to Skipper’s Canyon!

According to Jackie (and Wikipedia, of course), this was how the miners travelled from their homes to the Shotover River during the Central Otago Gold Rush. I found it hard to imagine how the miners survived. I mean, although the place is amazing – it really is a sight to behold, the terrain is quite unforgiving. The roads were quite  narrow and had sharp turns – granted, the miners of yore probably travelled on horse-drawn carriages, which may have been smaller than your modern 4×4 SUV but still – it must have been dificult. An article published in the New Zealand Herald identified it as “one of the 22 most dangerous in the world“.  No doubt about that one duck. I’m glad that Jackie was a very experienced driver. I wouldn’t even dare go down that road.

Here are my favourite photos from the workshop. Isn’t the place just  beautiful?

Anyway,  if you manage to find yourself a stunt driver who’s willing to brave the twists and turns of the Canyon – go for it! It’s well worth the trip (and occasional feeling of nausea – bring a paper bag, just in case).  It really is an amazing place. I’m afraid the 12 photos I’ve uploaded just don’t do the place any justice.

4 comments

    • AY! Thanks so much Dais, for the vote of confidence. 🙂 I’m hoping to improve my photographic (and writing) skills pa din. I’ll get there one of these days. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

