Tramping Tomorrow!

So … tomorrow, I’m going on a three-day tramp somewhere in the Tararua ranges. Well, at least I think that’s where I’m going. All I know is that we’re going to Cone Hut, and then to the Tutuwai Hut, and then back – and the trek to Cone Hut’s going to about 3 hours short and that I’ll need to scale a mountain (Mount Reeves, I think) on Monday, on the way back from Tutuwai Hut. Hey, I’ve only been in New Zealand 8 years so forgive me for not knowing all the great tramping areas in and around Wellington.

Well … going back to the tramp … I’m feeling somewhat excited and fretful at the same time. Excited because — hey! It’s a tramp! Fretful for the exact same reason. It’s not that I haven’t been on one before. I have … two tramps in fact. The first was crossing The Karamu, and the other was this one: Orokawa / Homunga Bay to Waihi Beach (refer to Featured Image for the map). However, it’s been almost 7 years since I’ve ventured out into the wilderness, and the conditions before were so different from tomorrow’s so I’m not exactly sure how I’ll manage. In the past two half-day tramps, all I had was a small pack with a couple of bananas, drinking water and my camera. Tomorrow, I’ll have to lug around a big backpack (apparently, there’s a special way of putting the pack on – I had an impromptu lesson last night), and stay 2 nights in the bush.

I’m sure it’ll be fine. I’m not going by my lonesome and my companion is a tramping expert. He knows how to read maps, and he’ll be carrying the food and equipment. All I need to worry about would be my pack (which contains my clothes – and my camera) and staying upright. Can’t wait! I know I’ll huff and puff and complain like anything, but I also know that even though I might curse a lot, I will trudge on and finish this walk.

Anyway, to get myself in the tramping spirit, I’m posting photos of my Orokawa / Humunga Bay to Waihi Beach tramp. The first batch are photos from the first half of the tramp, before we stopped to rest at some random beach (where I wrote letters on the sand).

These photos are from the 2nd half of the tramp – the photos are mostly of Waihi Beach.

I hope to be able to post photos of the walk I’m going to. I don’t know if I’ll be able to take pictures because I’ve already been told that we CANNOT stop to rest. Not even pause. We have to just keep going and going and going because if we stop for a break, we lose our momentum. (But how do I take pictures and appreciate the native flora and fauna? Where’s the fun in that?).

Here’s to Sore Feet … and a sore back, and sore legs!

Happy Waitangi Day Weekend everyone!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

