Tiptoeing on the Tip Track

Went on a 2-hour-tramp this afternoon. I needed to try out my new tramping boots and increase my fitness level so I’d be prepared to take on Tongariro in about three weeks. The closest track to home is the Tip Track or the Te Kopahou Reserve. I’ve been told that, even though it will be steep in some places, it’ll be generally a fairly cruise-y walk – and I suppose, in a way, it was. Yeah, I still huffed and puffed for most of the way but I made it to the top in one piece. In an ideal world, I should be walking uphill without stopping but, since I have my camera and there were lovely views – I paused every so often … to catch my breath, have a drink of water and take some pictures! 🙂

Here are some of the lovely things you’ll see if you walk the Tip Track.

Got to the top of Hawkins Hill but, because it was so misty (think Silent Hill on Playstation, more family friendly) and it was drizzling a bit, opted to forego heading further up to see the “Golf Ball” (Airways Corporation aircraft monitoring station). Stopped for a rest – and a closer look at my foot, which was hurting – at the top. Found out I got a blister on the ankle of my left foot! Blech! However, I’ve been told getting blisters is all part of breaking a shoe in. I’ll get thicker socks and tie the laces tighter next time.

Headed down the same way (easier and harder at the same time) and, after saying “hullo” to mountain bikers heading up, or giving way to bikers zooming down the hill, we got back to where we started.

Me and My Sore Feet
Me and My Sore Feet

I won’t be going on any walks in the next three weekend because I’ll be away, but the weekend after I get back from my 2-week jaunt, I’ll be taking on the Tongariro!

I. Can. Do. This!

PS. Was told that, when walking uphill, I should be on my toes, and land on the balls of my feet and not my heel. It’s supposed to make the trek less difficult and put less stress on my knees and ankles. Must remember that for next time.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

