Meandering around Mana

About two years ago, a couple of members of the APPS, the Photography Club I’m a member of, decided to go off and photograph the boat houses lining the wharf at Mana. I have honestly never been to Mana (well, I may have driven past it on my way up to Auckland, but that doesn’t count) so I’ve never seen the boat houses they were all raving on about. My curiosity got the best of me so I decided I’d tag along to see what the big fuss was all about.

Mana is one of several suburbs of Porirua City bounded by the Porirua Harbour on its west, and the Pauatahanui inlet on the right. We drove up State Highway 1 from Johnsonville and within minutes we were all turning left at a street off the main esplanade and walking towards several small boat houses that were painted in vibrant colours or decorated with nautical themes. The place was really so picturesque and we all just wanted to take photos of each and every boathouse we came upon. One seemed cuter or prettier or more colourful than the other. And since we went on our photowalk on a good day in Winter, there weren’t a lot of people around (except for the odd power walker or two) thus, we were able to take photos to our heart’s content.

Here are some of the photos I took during that afternoon.

Mana is a 22 minute drive north of Wellington City (on State Highway 1) or, if you don’t have a car, a 45 minute train ride from the Wellington Railway Station.

4 thoughts on “Meandering around Mana

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

