Chocolate Brunch Bars!

We had cake club at work 2 mondays ago and the lady rostered for that day brought this absolutely SUMPTUOUS chocolate dessert. It had a somewhat crumby base and a delectable chocolate icing on top. I found myself getting 2nds and 3rds! It was so yummy, I simply had to get the recipe, and she, very generously, shared it with me.

The dessert is really supposed to be called Black Forest Squares because you’re supposed to use a black forest chocolate bar as the icing. However, she said you really can use whatever kind of chocolate you want. So here’s my attempt.

What You Need:

You won’t need much and it won’t cost a lot to make those amazing chocolate bikkies. All you need can be seen in the banner image, above. 🙂

  • 1 packet vanilla wine biscuits
  • 150 gm butter
  • 60 gm sugar
  • 1 tbsp cocoa
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 king size chocolate bar (I asked the Grizzly Bear to get me Black Forest type but since Whittaker’s was cheaper than Cadbury (both made in NZ, thank you) he opted to get the former)

What You Need to Do:

First, since we don’t own a food processor, I had to crush the vanilla wine biscuits by hand. I tried to drop it on the benchtop, hoping the bikkies would just break into a gazillion pieces,  but they didn’t so I had to do it the hard way. I put all of them in a bowl and broke them into little bits.

DSCF0108
Fresh, hand-crushed vanilla wine biscuits (I washed my hands before this)

I then plonked the butter, cocoa and sugar in a pot and, since butter burns easily, I kept stirring to make sure all the ingredients were incorporated properly. And then, when all the butter has melted, I added the lightly beaten egg. I freaked out a bit when I added the egg since the butter mixture was still quite warm. I thought the heat would cook the egg and I’d end up with chocolate-y scrambled egg. Surprisingly, the ingredients mixed quite well.

Next, I poured the crushed vanilla wine biscuits and mixed everything together.

DSCF0109
Doesn’t it look quite yummy now?

I then got my little baking tray which I had lined with wax paper and pressed the biscuit mix onto the base (you don’t have to line the tray. I did because I figured the dessert would be easier to remove if I just pulled out the paper that’s sticking out from the sides). I used a wooden spoon to make sure the biscuit mix was tightly packed.

DSCF0110
The Biscuit Base is ready!

And then, I broke the chocolate bar into smaller pieces and dunked them all in a pot (the same one I used to melt the butter in) and melted the chocolate over low heat.

IMG_4982
I may have munched on 1 or 2 little squares before melting the rest

When the chocolate bar (and a bit of butter) had melted, I poured this over the biscuit base and used a rubber spatula to spread the icing evenly all over the surface.

IMG_4983
There you go … almost ready!

I then put the tin in the freezer and waited until the gooey chocolate icing has set. After about half an hour (Yes, I’m an eager beaver) I got the tin out, got myself a couple of slices and …

IMG_4985
Voila!

OH MY GOD! Chocolate Heaven!

Have a go! It’s quick and easy to make, it tastes absolutely delicious but it is fattening so … eat at your own risk.

Meanwhile … MERRY CHRISTMAS!!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

