Excerpts from my Travel Diary

Here are some of the stuff I wrote in my travel diary. I’ll probably share more of these in the next few days, just because… it’s nice to remember. AND I trawled through my hard-drive to include some photos too.

img_0010
Auckland Airport Tarmac – View from my window seat (24.10.2008)

24 october 8:30 pm (Akl Airport)

Finally off to China! I’ll be boarding the plane in 2 hours and then I’ll be on my way. Mum and BK (& Saffron) dropped me off at the airport earlier and we were quite surprised because the queues weren’t long. We expected heavy traffic and long lines because it’s the start of ta long weekend but it was quiet. I asked the ground crew about it and he said that we just missed the rush.

Anyway, I’m looking forward to the trip but I can’t say I’m excited. One of the guys at work said that if he were off to China, he’ be so excited but I’m like … “yeah, I’m going”. Flatmate said the same thing. He said he’d probably be jumping off the walls. I don’t know – perhaps I’ve traveled enough not to get too giddy? Or late lang nagki-kick in ang excitement ko. I bet I’ll be giddy as hell by the time we land in Beijing. Meanwhile I shall conserve my energy. 🙂

And I honestly can’t figure out why people need to be at the airport 3 hours before departure for international flights. After checking in – there’s absolutely nothing else to do. I’ve been ambling down the corridors trying to kill time and after what seems like an eternity, I check the departure board to find out I’ve wasted a grand total of 15 minutes.

I’m sleepy.

***

Oct 25 (Day 1 – Beijing)

Slept well during the flight. It was uncomfy, I woke up several times and adjusted my position but other than those & getting up twice to go to the loo, I slept well. I think (think lang) na I’m ready to conquer Beijing.

Still 2 hours to go though – and they’ll be serving brekkie. Choices are scrambled eggs and chicken sausage or congee. I chose the scrambled egg. I figured I’ll be surrounded by congee soon so no need to have that.

Films watched (3)

  • Hulk – no audio (no headset) read subtitles
  • 2nd hand wedding
  • Baby Mama

Started to watch Rocky but gave up – the food was served.

img_0009
That’s me at the bottom. Everyone else is having breakfast.

… to be continued

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

