Going Bananas

On my way to an appointment this afternoon, I walked past one of the dairies on Cuba Street and saw that they were selling over-ripe bananas for $2.99 per kg. Since I’ve been feeling a bit bleh, I decided to buy some so I can bake some banana cake at home – the type I used to bake way back in Manila.

So, I walked in and bought a bunch — and then decided to add another bunch … and since there were just a few forlorn bananas left, I said I’ll take the whole lot. So yeah, I ended up going home with a little over 5kgs of over-ripe bananas.  Sheesh!

While I was on the bus, I was looking for banana recipes on Google. I wanted something quick and simple to do and chanced upon this recipe by Nigella which was fairly simple and, since I knew I had all the ingredients at home, I decided to try it out.

And so I did – and because I’m silly (I attribute this to me feeling a bit bleh) I decided to … not double, but TRIPLE the recipe! My plan is to bring some to work tomorrow – as a way of thanking the lovely people at Payroll who worked tirelessly early this week – and when I told Grizzly Bear (yes, he’s still in the picture) he said he’d like to bring some to his workplace too. And of course, we must have some for us to munch, right? So there – 3 dozen muffins – all in one go. I had to change mixing bowls several times and ended up using one of our stock pots. No, I did not think this through properly – BUT – it still turned out okay.

Mmmmmufffins!
Mmmmmufffins!

Here’s the condensed recipe (for 12 muffins) – in case you don’t want to mosey over to Nigella’s page and read it from there. 🙂

Ingredients
3 over-ripe bananas
1/2 cup vegetable oil (mental note: buy more oil as I almost used up ours)
2 large eggs
1/2 cup soft light sugar (mental note: next time, pack the sugar tightly)
1 1/2 cups All Purpose Flour
3 tbsp unsweetened cocoa
1 tsp baking soda

Procedure (simplified)
Preheat oven to 200C and line a 12-bun muffin tin.
Mash bananas by hand or use a mixer.
Still beating and mashing, add the oil followed by the eggs and sugar.
Mix the flour, unsweetened cocoa and baking soda together.
Add this mixture, beating gently, to the banana mixture.
Spoon into prepared papers.
Bake for 15-20 minutes.
Allow to cool slightly in the tin before removing to a wire rack.

FUNNY PICTURES!

Next time, I won’t scrimp on the bananas (since I had massive bananas, I thought I’d just use 6 instead of 9 – like I was going to run out of those huh?). They do taste yummy – not too sweet and it does taste of banana – I think it would have been better if the taste of banana was stronger.

I already had two (yes, there are 34 left in the kitchen), and it tastes really great when smeared with butter. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

